Go to Top of Page

John's 18XX Site -- 1835 Section

1835 - Hamburg - Hex C11

Once brown tiles are available there are aspects of this city which are open to different interprtations.

Hamburg area of board

When the game starts the situation of Hamburg is quite clear, it is a green hex on the board, value 40.
It is an HH hex which means that it is a town through or to which a train may run twice in the same turn.

Hamburg brown tile

When brown tiles become available the situation changes, as you can see from the tile shown left in its only legal orientation, as defined in the rules section VII.
Hamburg has become an H town (although the actual tile itself is erroneously labled HH) so can only be used once per train route.
The town is worth either 50 or 60 depending on whether the train's route uses the Elbe Tunnel or not.

Hamburg area of board with brown tile

The situation with the tile on the board is shown left.

The hexes adjoining Hamburg cab be split into two groups of three, those grouped on the north bank (B10, B12 & C13) and those grouped on the south bank (C9, D10 & D12).
A route that enters and leaves Hamburg via hexes that are in the same group certainly does not use the tunnel and so Hamburg is value 60.
A route that enters Hamburg via a hex in one group and leaves via a hex in the other group certainly uses the tunnel and so Hamburg is value 50.

Things get a bit more confused when Station Markers (SMs) and routes terminating in Hamburg come into the equation.

Some argue that the station is divided into two by the tunnel, if we follow this line of thought it follows that once the two SM spots north are both occupied only those two companies can run through Hamburg north to north or tunnel to north, and once the Southern SM spot is occupied only that company can run through south to south or tunnel to south.  This means that once all three Hamburg SM spots are occupied no company can run through Hamburg north to south, not even those with a SM in Hamburg!  It is also argued that if a company with a SM in Hamburg starts its route there and exits via a hex in the other sector Hamburg is only worth 50 and not 60 as the tunnel is used.  Of course a company without a SM in Hamburg always has a value of 60 for a route terminating there.  A bit wierd!  My view is that if this had been the intention then it would have been specifically mentioned in the rules.

I therefore don't hold that view and in the games that I run once Hamburg has been promoted to a brown tile I use the following rulings:
For all routes terminating there Hamburg has a value of 60.
As long as there is a vacant SM location in Hamburg any company can run through it, counting the appropriate value as described earlier.

In support of my view I offer the following.  Note that the three station circles and the tunnel are enclosed within a single black line and that the background colour is white.  To me this means that this is to be considered as one station, if it was intended to be two stations the space between the two SM spots in the north and the SM spot in the south would be brown as the rest of the tile is, and the station could be counted twice in a route.
In turn this can be taken as meaning that trains belonging to a company that has a SM on Hamburg may enter from any adjacent hex and leave by any other hex assuming, of course, that there is track in those hexes.  An extension of that is that as long as there is at least one unoccupid SM spot on the tile any company can run a train through Hamburg using any entry and exit tracks that are available.

The only FAQ that I have found is that created by Bill Stoll back in the mid 1990s as part of his "The Depot" site.
This hasn't been updated in a while and is now only accessable via an archive site,
Go to The Depot Archive Site
This site is unavailable now (5 Jan 2024), I will investigate further.
Q 3.2.4 is the one that concernes Hamburg, and broadly supports my interpretations, but does note a dissenting view.